New Belle and Sebastian album released! Is “Belle and Sebastian: The Movie” next?!

New Belle and Sebastian album: Late Developers

Wow fans, Stuart Murdoch and company are releasing a new Belle and Sebastian album. Late Developers, out January 13, comes just months since B&S triumphant return last year with A Bit of Previous. Developers is billed as a bigger, brighter and more playful release than A Bit of Previous. Early single “I Don’t Know What You See in Me” is a chugging dance number.

What do you think?

Pete Ferguson gets co-writing credit on “I Don’t Know What You See in Me,” a first for Belle and Sebastian.

The Scots’ 12th album was written at the same time as A Bit of Previous, with these tracks held back as a deliberate exclamation point to last year’s delightful release.

New Belle and Sebastian album also reaches into the past

In addition to this new chapter, the new Belle and Sebastian album includes a page from the past. “When the Cynics Stare Back From the Wall” is a 1994 song finally getting release. Fellow Glasgow resident Tracyanne Campbell of Camera Obscura shares vocals. “Julie Naked” is an unreleased song from the Ethan Hawke’s movie five years ago.

Belle and Sebastian album previews new movie or rom-com?!

Belle and Sebastian album out January 13.  When will we see "Belle and Sebastian: The Movie"

Murdoch continues to work on a fictional memoir as he recovers from an illness that canceled tours in South America and Europe the last several months. He tells NME he hopes the stories based on his early years could end up as a TV show or movie. Murdoch calls the book,

a fiction, but based around my early adventures before the band were together, when I was struggling as a hapless musician for ages

Late Developers tracklist

Belle and Sebastian’s Late Developers has eleven tracks, which you can download starting January 13 from Bandcamp.

  1. Julie Naked
  2. Give a Little Time
  3. When We Were Very Young
  4. Will I Tell You a Secret
  5. So in the Moment
  6. The Evening Star
  7. When You’re Not With Me
  8. I Don’t Know What You See in Me
  9. Do You Follow
  10. When the Cynics Stare Back From the Wall
  11. Late Developers

Watch the video for “I Don’t Know What You See in Me” and order your copy of the new Belle and Sebastian album Late Developers tomorrow!

Leave a Reply